Poem by an Unknown Soldier Written During WWII

Today’s post is a little different. As Rememberance Sunday, I thought I should post something topical, something that will allow us to remember those who died, and what they fought for.

_________________________

Stay with me God, the night is dark!

The night is cold; my little spark

Of courage dims, the night is long.

Be with me God and make me strong.

_________________________

I love a game; I love a fight.

I hate the dark; I love the light.

I love my child; I love my wife.

I am no coward. I love life.

_________________________

Life with its change of mood and shade,

I want to live. I’m not afraid.

But me and mine are hard to part.

O unknown God lift up my heart.

_________________________

You stilled the waters at Dunkirk

You saved Your servants, all Your work

Is wonderful. Dear God; you strode

Before us down that dreadful road.

_________________________

We were alone and hope had fled.

We loved our country and our dead.

And could not shame them; so we stayed —

The course and were not much afraid.

_________________________

Dear God, that nightmare road! And then

That sea! We got there – we were men.

My eyes were blind, my feet were torn,

My soul sang like a bird at dawn!

_________________________

I know that death is but a door;

I knew what we were fighting for.

Peace for the kids, our brothers freed,

A kinder world, a cleaner breed.

_________________________

I’m but the son my mother bore.

A simple man, and nothing more.

But – God of strength and gentleness,

Be pleased to make me nothing less!

_________________________

Help me again when death is near.

To mock the haggard face of fear,

That when I fall, if fall I must,

My soul may triumph in the dust!

_________________________


My boyfriend’s Grandad, Brian, was told about this poem when it was found in the trenches. The soldier who wrote it died fighting in Dunkirk; he never meant for this poem to be seen by anyone. The poem blew away and was found by one of his fellow fighters. Brian learnt it by heart at the age of 9, and now at 82, he can still recite it. He passed it on to me to try and make more people aware of it.

13 thoughts on “Poem by an Unknown Soldier Written During WWII

  1. Reblogged this on sherriemiranda1 and commented:
    I am not religious, but I am spiritual. I also am not a fan of war and think that in these times, we choose war as a first resort, rather than a last resort.
    That said, I appreciate Sarah (from Sarah’s Bookshelf) and her boyfriend’s grandfather for trying to keep these poems alive.
    World War II was the last war that absolutely had to be fought. Men gave their lives; women gave their husbands and children gave their fathers. Many gave their sanity; others their sense of peace. Let it never be forgotten that WAR IS HELL!
    I would also like to mention that I will soon put out a call for stories & narrative poems on the subject of the Aftermath of War. When I do, I will be looking for original stories, generally recently written, though I will consider stories that have not gotten much attention, even if they are older.
    Peace to all,
    Sherrie
    Sherrie Miranda’s historically based, coming of age, Adventure novel “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador” is about an American girl in war-torn El Salvador:
    http://tinyurl.com/klxbt4y
    Her husband made a video for her novel. He wrote the song too:

    Like

Leave a Reply

