Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays is hosted by A Daily Rhythm and the rules are simple. All you have to do is answer the following questions:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

For those of you who don’t know, I’m currently studying English Literature at university in Liverpool, and it involves so much reading I think I’m turning into a book. I won’t be covering all of these in this post (it would make it about the same length as my dissertation is due to be).

I’m currently reading…

IMG_0859

I’ve been reading Orlando as part of my dissertation, but I can’t quite seem to finish it. Partly because of all the other books I have to read, but partly because the setting is odd. For those of you who don’t know the story, it is a novel in the form of a bibliography, about a fictional character called Orlando. But it follows his life across centuries until he is reborn as a woman during the 20th Century. Another weird one by Virginia Woolf, but interesting!

 


IMG_0855

 

Again, as part of my dissertation, I’ve been trying to make it through Hermione Lee’s huge 772-page monstrosity about Virginia Woolf.

 

 

 

 


IMG_0860

My next essay, due in on the 18th January, is a question about ordinariness and transcendence. The Metamorphosis is about a man named Gregor Samsa who wakes up having transformed into some sort of dung-beetle/cockroach (Kafka is unclear what sort of insect it is).

 

 

 

I recently finished reading…

IMG_0865

 

 

I’ve just reread this Sherlock Holmes classic. We studied it at university a few weeks ago, but I’m trying to reread texts in preparation for my exams in June. I have no idea how I’m fitting all this reading in, but I’m obviously doing something right.

 


main-qimg-616cff7173c05bebeba62e61f9bfe948 (1)

Because Kafka’s Metamorphosis (as mentioned above) is a translation, I’ve just finished reading the Kindle edition. Because of the nature of translations, I’m now reading the Norton Critical edition to see how the translations differ.

 

 

 


IMG_0861

This is another dissertation book, more on the context of the writing of Virginia Woolf. She was in her thirties when the war hit and it had a huge impact on her writing.

 

 

 

 


IMG_0856

ANOTHER dissertation book. I’m interested in the symbolic imagery of the sea and waves in Woolf’s fiction. This book was so helpful. It had a whole chapter dedicated to the sea in Woolf’s works.

 

 

 

Up next, I think I’ll read…

IMG_0857

 

This is one of the only books I haven’t read for my course. With 35 novels set, amongst other things like short stories and poetry, I think I’ve done very well! Obviously I had the summer holiday (four months) to read everything. I need to read this for the next term.

 

 


IMG_0863

Another book for my dissertation. The First World War had such a massive influence on Literature, so I’ll be looking out for water references, including the waves and drowning, in Poetry of the ‘War Poets’. Hopefully I’ll find some pointers in this edition.

 

 

 

I wish I could read…

I recently bought a copy of Gone Girl. I know it came out so long ago but I’ve just watched the film and STILL haven’t read the book. However, what with all the university reading, it’s been abandoned until the summer.


So there you have it! My ridiculous list of books. No matter how much I read, I still feel behind. There are definitely far too many books out there, but I’m not going to complain about it.

Thanks for reading.

Sarah xxx


Don’t forget to enter my Christmas giveaway here!

Leave a Reply

