Welcome to 2016

This is my first post of the new year, which is very exciting. It comes a bit late, I know, but I’ve been so busy recently with university reading and essays. Just so I don’t confuse any of you, my blog has had a 2016 makeover! I thought my previous theme was rather dark so I wanted to lighten the mood, literally and metaphorically. The layout and menus are exactly the same, I’ve just changed the colours and pictures.

Things will be a lot quieter from me for a while. I’m really trying to focus on my last five months of university to achieve the best grade I can. I might post the odd thing to keep you all updated, or the odd book review. My aim in 2016, as I have stated on my Goodreads account here, is to read 30 books which seems extremely pathetic. However the amount of reading I will get done between now and June is nil because of university. So I’ve halved the amount I would usually try to read in a year. Amazingly I’m already four books in!

June is the big month for me this year. It’s mine and my fiancée’s four year anniversary – yes, I said fiancée. As of New Year’s Eve, we’re engaged – it’s also the month of my final exams and the month I find out how well, or badly, I’ve done in my degree. After I’ve graduated, I want to read all the books on my TBR (to-be-read) list and the Guardian’s 100 Greatest Novels of All Time, starting with number 100 and working through to 1. I haven’t set myself a time limit for this. It just feels really important to me. I’ve been in education for 17 years of my life and I want to celebrate with copious amounts of books to read that made an impact on the world. For the first time since I was five, I don’t have someone telling me what books to read or study so I’m very excited for this task!

What book challenges have you made for the new year? I look forward to hearing your comments!

sarah-sharpe-signature

3 thoughts on “Welcome to 2016

  1. I really love your signature! Did you do that yourself? Also congratulations on your engagement! I feel the same about my blog with all the reading that I have to do for University, unfortunately there is just no time for reading for pleasure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, unfortunately I didn’t make the signature myself! Can’t remember where I found it now, but I have no software to edit or make pictures or drawings unfortunately. As much as I love reading what is on my course, sometimes you just want to read a trashy read, the kind you’d take on holiday and read in one sitting!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think it looks brilliant anyway 🙂 it’s good that you enjoy what you have to read for your course – some books I do and some books I don’t, and then when I see my neglected bookshelf I wish I could just devour them instead!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

